Left Continue shopping
Your Order

You have no items in your cart

Read more

A Comprehensive Guide to Chakra Meanings

Person Holding Chakra 

The term “chakra” is one that many individuals may have heard before but don’t truly understand what this term means. 

Falling within the health and wellness realm, chakras concern the energy centers of the body and are the focus of those who practice natural healing and wellness.

Understanding Chakras

Before we dive into the different types of chakras and the meanings associated with each, it’s important to define what chakras are and what they do. A chakra is a concentrated energy center of the body. In Sanskrit, chakra means wheel or disk, and, ultimately, chakras can be defined as wheels of energy and light. 

Our energetic body systems are composed of minor and major chakras. If our chakras are blocked, this may have an effect on our overall health and wellness. Natural healers use chakras to get one’s body back in proper working order and clear any blocked chakras that might be apparent. 

Opening up chakras in the body can promote healthy energy flow and get us back to feeling balanced and well once again

How To Strengthen Your Chakras

Reiki background with card

If you want to pursue healthy living through natural wellness methods, clearing and strengthening your chakras is a good place to start. When we work with our chakras, we can touch upon areas related to emotional, mental, physical, and spiritual health. As we increase the energy flow through our chakras, we can pursue overall wellness. 

There are many ways to increase the flow of our chakras, including: 

  • Yoga 
  • Release emotional clutter in our life 
  • Reiki practice 
  • Forgiveness 

When we hold feelings in and don’t have healthy ways to release anger, pain, and resentment, our chakras can become blocked. Fortunately, there are ways to work on individual chakras and focus on different parts of ourselves that we would like to better.

The Seven Chakras And Their Meanings

There are seven major chakras within the body, each one focusing on a different area and aspect of our thought processes and well-being. Each major chakra plays an important part in the overall wellness of an individual. 

Here are the seven main chakras, from bottom to top, and what they do:

Muladhara: Base Or Root Chakra 


The Muladhara, or base or root chakra, focuses on existence, and the mantra sound is lam. This chakra is located at the base of the spine and is closest to the earth. The root chakra is associated with the color red and the earth element

In order to keep this chakra in good working order, movement exercises are recommended. Some of the recommended exercises include jogging, running, and dancing. Survival and security are the two main components of this chakra. If these needs are taken care of, so is this chakra. 

Svadhisthana: Sacral Chakra


Sacral Chakra is found in the lower abdominal region. The sacral chakra is associated with the color orange and the water element. 

In order to enhance this chakra’s function, activities such as belly dancing and yoga are good ones to pursue. If you’re in a loving partnership, this, too, will help your sacral chakra to shine. 

The sacral chakra focuses on living out your dream. In other words, your dreams should be pursued and turned into reality.   

Manipura: Solar Plexus Chakra


The Manipura or solar plexus chakra focuses on the control aspect, and the mantra sound is ram. This chakra is located in your mid-back region. The solar plexus chakra is associated with the color yellow and the element of fire

To clear and enhance this chakra, take part in activities that allow you to embrace control and determine your own destiny. Think of what you want to do, and then go out and pursue your goals. 

Anahata: Heart Chakra


The Anahata, or heart chakra, puts the focus on love and relationships. The mantra sound for the heart chakra is yam. This chakra is located in the upper back region. The heart chakra is associated with the color green and the natural element of air. 

In order to enhance this chakra, focus on activities that revolve around love, such as healthy relationships with other individuals and pets, appreciating the beauty of nature, and sharing this love with others. 

It’s important to not only give love but accept the love bestowed upon you. This warm-hearted chakra is one to keep clear and openly embrace.  

Vishuddha: Throat Chakra


The Vishuddha, or throat chakra, represents communication and expression. The mantra sound for the throat chakra is ham. This chakra can be found in the neck region and is associated with the color blue

When this chakra is working at its full potential, you’ll find that you can easily ask for all that you need. Ease of communication can be yours when your Vishuddha is clear. Activities that will help keep your throat chakra working to its best ability include chanting, singing, and breathing exercises. 

Use this expression chakra to speak your truth and converse with others freely.  

Ajna: Third Eye ChakraAjna

The Ajna, or third eye chakra, represents intuition. The mantra sounds for the third eye chakra include sham, aum, or om. The Ajna chakra color is indigo and is located between the eyebrows. 

When your third eye chakra is at its maximum working capacity, you’ll find that insight, guidance, and awareness are at an all-time high. Your intuition will be right on point. Therefore, it’s easy to see why taking care of your third eye chakra is essential. 

Some activities that will help with the proper flow of this chakra include visualization exercises and meditation. When your Ajna is clear, your insight and intuition will be, too.  

Sahasrara: Crown Chakra


The Sahasrara or crown chakra relates to spiritual connection. The mantra sounds for this chakra are om, ah, and Soham. The Sahasrara chakra color is violet or violet-white, and this chakra is located at the crown of the head. 

The crown chakra focuses on cosmic consciousness and peace. It’s the chakra that states, “I am one with all.” Reiki practitioners often focus on this chakra in practice and meditation sessions.  

Work With Your Chakras For Health And Wellbeing

Now that you know what each of the seven chakras does and how they can be used for natural well-being, the next step is to work with your chakras. You can work with your chakras on your own by practicing meditation. Focus on the specific chakras that you’d like to work on and meditate with those chakras in mind. 

You can also visit a Reiki practitioner who will perform a session with hands-on healing and work on certain chakras that you are trying to balance. If you’re unsure which chakras need the most attention, you can speak with the Reiki practitioner, who can help you with your natural healing journey. 

Whether you work on your chakras at home or with the help of a natural health and wellness professional, keeping your chakras open and receptive is an excellent way to pursue overall wellness.